What types of inspections does the Englewood Health Department conduct?

There are six types of inspections: 

  1. Routine: unannounced, comprehensive inspection of the entire physical establishment and all aspects of safe food handling practices.
  2. Follow-up: unannounced inspection conducted for the purpose of re-inspecting items that were not in compliance at the time of routine, critical procedures, or complaint inspection.
  3. Complaint Investigation: unannounced inspection performed in response to a complaint received by the health department.
  4. Risk Factor Assessment: unannounced inspection to evaluate foodborne illness risk factors and to determine compliance with priority items of the regulations.
  5. Pre-opening: scheduled inspection to approve a newly constructed or remodeled establishment (or installation of new equipment) prior to a permit being issued and an establishment beginning operation.
  6. Training: scheduled inspection during which formal food safety training is provided to employees of a food establishment. This can also be a mock inspection.

Show All Answers

1. What types of inspections does the Englewood Health Department conduct?
2. Who conducts the inspections?
3. What are risk-based inspections?
4. How will I know when my restaurant will be inspected?
5. What do Public Health Inspectors look for in a routine inspection?
6. What happens when a violation is found?
7. Are food establishments fined for violations?
8. When does Public Health close an establishment?