Copies of Vital Records
Birth, Marriage, Civil Union, Domestic Partnership, and Death Certificates are available from the Englewood Department of Health if the event occurred in Englewood. State Statute requires that the person requesting Certified Copies of these records must know where and when, as well as other identifying information, and also establish a "right to access" the record with identification.
For those designated with Right to Access (Entitlement) and Acceptable ID, please view the Right to Access page and Access (Entitlement) page on the State of New Jersey - Department of Health's website for more information.
To authorize a delegate to obtain a record on your behalf, use a Delegation of Authority Form
The fee for all Certified Copies is $25 for the first copy of a vital record and $2 for each additional copy of the same record. The fee for Certifications (of genealogical records, not for legal purposes) is $15. There is a limit of 10 death certificates and 5 birth or marriage/civil union/domestic partnership certificates per customer transaction per day as per State policy.
The fee for amendments to vital records is $20. Corrected certified copies must be purchased when amendments have been approved by the State Department of Health.
No Personal Checks are accepted for these services/documents.
Mail Orders must be accompanied by a money order, Funeral Director's or Attorney's business check, or certified check.
Credit Card Orders are currently accepted through the VitalChek website (non-refundable order processing fee of $7 per order) with Expedited Delivery Service available by selecting UPS.
Requests for records with Apostille seal must be directed to the State Office of Vital Statistics and Registry. View the State of New Jersey Department of Health website for more information.
Genealogical Records (Family History Research)
Birth, Death, & Marriage
May be searched for without the exact information otherwise necessary. The State Office of Vital Statistics and Registry defines a vital record as genealogical as follows:
Birth, death, and marriage records for people who are deceased and where:
- The birth occurred more than 80 years ago.
- The marriage occurred more than 50 years ago.
- The death occurred more than 40 years ago.
All orders/requests must be accompanied by an application.
Please download and complete the VitalCheck application forms below:
- Application for Non-Genealogical Certification or Certified Copy of Vital Record
- Application for Genealogical Certification or Certified Copy of Vital Record:
Important Information About Newborn Birth Certificates
- Allow 2 to 4 weeks for processing (by hospital and Health Department) of Birth Certificates of newborns.
- Download and review the complete details on How to Obtain a Newborn's Birth Certificate: